Laureate Award

Created in 2009, the Carlow Laureate Award is an institutional honor given to Carlow University distinguished alumni. All nominees must have an earned undergraduate or graduate degree from Carlow University and must have a minimum of 10 years professional experience with documented professional successes/achievements.

Awards will be presented to the selected Carlow Laureates at a celebratory luncheon held in May the day before spring Commencement. The Laureates will also participate in the Commencement ceremony.

Criteria for Nomination

All nominees must have an earned undergraduate or graduate degree from Carlow University. All graduates who are not employees of Carlow University are eligible for the award. Nominees must have a minimum of 10 years professional experience with documented academic/professional successes or achievements.

Nomination Process

To nominate a candidate for consideration, the nominator should complete a Nomination Form and submit with a Nominator’s Statement (no more than 2 pages), detailing how the nominee’s qualifications fulfill each category for the award. Additional documentation should be provided to enhance the nomination. Please also send the nominee's current resume and any additional documentation which might enhance the nomination.

Review Process

Award recipients nominations are reviewed by a committee selected by the Vice President for University Advancement. Awardees will have the opportunity to engage with the University community through service and mentoring activities.

Selection Criteria

  • Exceptional Achievement. The nominee must have made exceptional achievement and contributions to the nominee’s profession, community, society, and/or university.
  • Demonstrated Leadership. The nominee must be a respected leader and role model in the nominee’s profession and/or community.
  • Reflection of University Ideals. The nominee must embody the mission and values of the university in the nominee’s personal life.

For more information, please contact Laurie Petty at 412.578.8851 or

Past Carlow Laureates


David Debenham, JD '13
Howard B. Slaughter, Jr., PhD '93
Donna Marie Vivio, MPH, MS '76 (awarded posthumously)
Rachelle Zomack, MS '91
Young Laureate: Misti McKeehen, MS '07


Read the 2016 Carlow Laureate press release and full bios
Amie Downs, JD '94
Anne DeNardo McGowan, JD '60
Shawn McGill, MSW '98
Anne Macdonald Peniston, RN, MSN, FNP '81


Read the 2015 Carlow Laureate press release and full bios
Sister Grace Ann Geibel, RSM, PhD '61 (awarded posthumously)
Barbara Capozzi Kirr '60
Louise Reiber Malakoff, JD '67
Margaret Quinn Rosenzweig, PhD, FNP-BC, AOCNP, FAAN '81
Ellie Buntag Wymard, PhD '58


Read the 2014 Carlow Laureate press release and full bios
Juilene Osborne-McKnight, MFA '07
Dorothy A. Davis, JD, BA '78
Susan E. Lee, BA '79
Deborah Rice-Johnson, BS '08
Sister Jane Scully, RSM, BA '39, Carlow President 1967-1982


Margaret Meis Armen, JD '69
Barbara K. Mistick, PhD '90
Carol Awkard Neyland '73
Sister Cynthia Serjak, RSM '72, '97
Rita M. McGinley '40 (awarded posthumously)


Michele Rehfeld Atkins '82
Patricia Gimper Donohoe '75
Michele Fabrizi '75
Dr. Marilyn Radke, MD '73


Mary Ann Sestili, PhD '61
Monica O’Keefe '69
Judge Margaret A. Mangan, BSN, MS, J.D. '70
Stella Smetanka Mericli, J.D. '70


Arlene Myers Morris '79
Grace Mushrush MD '57
Janet Simon, PhD '67


Georgia Morello Decker '68
The Honorable Stephanie Domitrovich, Ph.D. '76
Marianne Felice, M.D. '66
E. Jeanne Adamson Gleason '60
Sister Margaret Hannan, RSM '65
Beverly Kowalski Kaniecki '80
Lynda Ruffo Katz, Ph.D. '63
Sister Ida Mularikal '69